Lost a Friend

Hello, friends.

I’ve been AWOL for a little while. Part of that is because of work, being scheduled seven days in a row of 8am-5pm doesn’t exactly make for cohesive thought. I might be gone for a little longer after this post.

I lost a good friend, yesterday. My best friend. I won’t write his name other than to say he was the Mutt that I’ve mentioned a few times on this blog. He was a hard worker and a great man. The story in the paper is that he was on his way here for school, and for unknown reasons swerved into oncoming traffic. It was probably painless, since I can only assume his fatigue caught up to him and he fell asleep at the wheel.

There is a small comfort to me in my way of thinking about life. In my view, he learned whatever he needed to learn and now he’s off to do something else for a while. His last lesson to me will be teaching me how to mourn, since I’ve never lost someone close to me before. I’m so happy I had the pleasure of knowing him, and I’m going to miss him desperately. I’ll be forever grateful for all that he’s given me, and all he’s taught me, and I’m going to try to carry on for him.

For now, though, I need to rest, and heal. There’s an empty spot in my heart today.

10 thoughts on “Lost a Friend

  1. Hello Hermit,

    I am so sorry that you lost a friend. Your approach to this tragedy is deeply humble and mature.. it shows that you walk in sacredness through hardship, that is very touching and inspiring. I’m sure he also found a great friend in you. Please take care.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Coyote. I’m glad I can be inspiring even in my gray moments. I’m taking as much care as I can right now. 🙂 It’s a little easier this morning.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You know, it never really passes. Grief is always here within us, it just become less painful, more like a fact. I think it serves a purpose, it speaks of memory and sacredness of life… pain is just the human side effect of it.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. *hug* Thank you so much. I’m a little less numb this morning but I’m taking it a moment at a time. 🙂 I’m glad I’ve got people like you around.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Not gonna sugar coat it. Losing people we’re close to, family, friends, anyone who gets right in there at our hearts, hurts like hell. It’s not pretty moving past it, and right now you might be numb. Or you might be feeling every little thing. But as time passes, it will get easier. It’ll never go away, but it’ll be a little easier to carry it each day, week, month, year. The best thing I can do for you right now, other than turn to the gods to help give you ease and peace of mind, and to do the same for your friend, is to give you the best piece of advice I’ve ever been given in situations like this.
    There is no time limit on grief, and anyone who tells you otherwise is an idiot. For some the worst of it lasts a short while, for others it’s years, and for some still the worst of it sticks with them until their own trip to the Summerland. But always remember – everyone works through it in their own time, in their own way. And stronger once out the other side. I wish you the best of luck in handling this new experience, because it’s gonna be a rough ride. But we’re all here for you. Rooting for you. Ready to pick you up if you need it, or just give you a big ol’ hug.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lady Bryan. It seems to be a bit easier this morning to be more of a human and less of a potato, emotionally speaking. It’s become clear to me in the past few hours that I’m surrounded by people who care and will gladly stick out a hand to help. I’m so grateful that I’ve got such good people around me, you included. 🙂 Thank you so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. People come into our lives at just the right time to help us learn and grow. And their influence can be both positive and negative, depending on the lessons that need learning. I’m just happy to be able to give encouragement or motivation when people seem to need it most. Or a shoulder and a hug. Or, well, in this case a virtual shoulder and a virtual hug. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts

