New Year with the Wildwood

Hello, friends!

Last year was a wild year. Looking back at the spread I did for last year, it’s clear to me just how much I’ve changed. Being “Bilbo Baggins’d by Fate” doesn’t even begin to cover what happened. Sandbagged, more like. But I was right, it was an adventure, an emotional roller coaster, and I’ve come out the other side a stronger man. I was also spot-on in my reading, with the upsets and the job(which was the upset), even though the time scale ended up being far longer than I thought at the time. What I got blatantly wrong was the destination: emotional connection with another being, in this case Frey. Also…let me just giggle a little at past-me’s thoughts about the Queen of Cups. Just wait for it, honey. Just you wait. *shooshpap*

As is becoming custom with me, I’m doing a personal reading for the new year, this time with the Wildwood deck since it’s pretty grounded in reality, which is something I need right now. I’ll be using the New Year spread from Little Red Tarot, who I recently stumbled upon and find intriguing. So, without further distraction:

To paraphrase from Little Red’s page:

  1. Center (three cards): The current situation
  2. Dusk (two cards): What’s leaving you at the moment
  3. Horizon (two cards): What’s arriving in your life in the new year
  4. Focus (two cards): Where to focus your energy
  5. Tools: Resources you can draw upon to help you.

And here’s what the Wildwood had to say:

NewYearSpread

1 – Center – World Tree, Seven of Stones, Two of Stones
Right now I’m in the process of healing from all the weirdness that went down in the last year. However, I’m also at the end of that particular journey and am about to start another. I’ve learned what I needed to and can move on to face new challenges with the skills I’ve accrued. New beginnings are going to be a theme this year, I think, given all the bunnies.

2 – Dusk – Five of Arrows and Seven of Cups
My time of frustration is finally over, and it’s time to move forward. Let the ram go(stubborn pride, maybe?) and save your arrows, move on to bigger and better things. It’s time for me to stop mourning all that I used to be. I’ve payed my respects, and learned all that I can. Now, I need to live for my current self, and my current situation.

3 – Horizon – Queen of Bows and Three of Cups
Joy is making a gran reentry into my life, and with it inspiration is sure to follow. The energy of the Hare, contains kindness, compassion, and a willingness to walk in darkness with awareness and purpose. The Hare is driven, and will drive others as well. A cautious rebirth into something greater, and lighter.

4 – Focus – Two of Arrows and King of Bows
Speak the truth. Truth will always prevail, especially when spoken by an impartial judge, but do not utter words harshly. The Adder’s tongue is swift but subtle, willful in its execution. The Adder’s energy is mature and intelligent, unchallenged in its power, and yet somewhat playful. The words hissed by the Adder are runes, or the Truth as told by Loki.

5 – Tools – Queen of Stones
The Bear is old and wise, curious but cautious. Her approach is pragmatic and generous, yet in defending what is hers she is ruthless and swift. When searching for solutions the Bear is cunning, and surprisingly dexterous, yet grounded and steadfast. The proverbial winter is over, and it’s time for me to come out of hibernation.


Thank you for being here with me, everyone. With any luck I’ll be back tomorrow with a post about my other New Year rituals. 🙂 See you then!

One thought on “New Year with the Wildwood

Your Thoughts

