Jera and Thawing

Hello my friends!

Isa is finally over. Finally.

I’m a Taurus. I like stability. I like it when things don’t change drastically or unpredictably. What I don’t like is when everything freezes up and tenses up and life forces you to wait it out. I’m not all that patient. I like my chair a lot but even I need to get up and go for a walk sometimes. Or shovel snow off the driveway. Or something. I hate stagnation, particularly mental/emotional stagnation, more than I probably should. It’s useful to be able to take a breather, yeah, but there comes a point where the air gets too stale and dusty.

What I hate even more than that is the metaphysical thawing that comes afterwards. I don’t know if anyone else has been in THE Biggest Funk the past few days but…eugh. It’s been a rough week for me, almost entirely because of personal issues breaking through the ice when I wasn’t ready for them. I won’t go into detail, suffice to say that all of The Stuff was stuff I’ve been trying to ignore about myself and my relationships to other people that really needed to be acknowledged. So, I’ve acknowledged them, and I feel a bit better now.

Thawing always sucks. You come in from the cold, your hands feel fine if a bit numb, and then after a few minutes the pain hits and that moment of, “oh frackity-doo here we go again,” happens. I’ve had physical thawing take somewhere on the order of an hour before(thank you, marching band, never again) and it sucks arse, but mental/emotional/spiritual thawing can take a lot longer, as I’m continuing to find out. So if you’re in the midst of a really bad bout of the Brain Weasels or emotional blah or intense and painful shadow work, you’re not alone. ‘Tis the season, as they say. The thawing will stop eventually. Give it time and don’t try to force it. That’s like running very cold hands under hot water. It will only suck more. I know this from experience(brass instruments are cold).

Do something for yourself that absorbs all of your attention. Like learning the lyrics to a new song, playing video games, drawing, shoving snow off the sidewalk(I found winter a couple days ago, apparently it’s been hiding on the other side of the mountains.) or watching videos. Don’t be too hard on yourself, don’t try to think positive if it’s hard for you to do, just flow with it. Be with yourself. This too shall pass.

Stay safe, my friends!

3 thoughts on “Jera and Thawing

Your Thoughts

