Sunshine Blogger Award

Dappled Stone

Hello, friends!

Loki’s Little Hippy Witch nominated me for the Sunshine Blogger Award! Rather appropriate given my patron. ;D Thank you, dearie!

The Sunshine blogger awards rules:

  • Thank the person that nominated you.
  • Answer the 11 questions from your nominator.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers and give them eleven questions to answer.

And the questions posed to me are thus:

  1. What drew you to blogging?
    My dad, and my books. When he was getting popular on Podiobooks back in 2010 or thereabouts, I tried my best to learn as much as I could about his process. For some reason the fact that he had a blog stuck with me and I decided to start one of my own. I’ve tried to blog several times over the years, but that’s how Being the Hermit got started. That was my long-term plan, anyway. What got me to stay was the need for a place to put the explanations I wrote about the Revenant deck (which may or may not end up getting re-worked into an Oracle deck at some point) other than Facebook Notes. From there I found the tarot community, and then tripped down into the rabbit hole of UPG bloggers and found a place where I fit in. Finally. *cheering*
  2. What sparked your Great Adventure on your current path?
    I have a couple Great Adventures going on at the moment, actually, and both are kinda connected. The more mundane one would be the books(which are on a different blog now for Reasons) but that sparked from curiosity when I watched my dad write a book and narrate it. I have one book-length thing that could be described as a story that I wrote back in middle/high school, but Revenant happened because I sat down one year on November 1st and decided that I wanted to do NaNoWriMo. This year I outpaced my dad.
    The not-mundane path has been sparkling on and off since I was born, pretty much. When I was in elementary school, my best friend and I would go out to the back of the playground and pretend that we were faeries, and construct epic adventures in our heads. One day in late fall we were pretending to be elemental magicians (a la Avatar or W.I.T.C.H.) and I decided to play with the wind. Which was rather impressive given that I was in third grade at the time. She thought it was great, and I continued to do “the wind thing” until middle school happened, she moved away, and I ended up with a bunch of people I didn’t know, one of whom ended up being the first person ever to make me go berserk(he gave me a bloody nose and I lashed out. However, a teeny-tiny adorable me was not very effective at dealing damage so it ended up looking like slightly frustrated flailing in an oversized, flappy-armed jacket. Not so ferocious), which stifled any and all attempts at anything for a few years until I met another like-minded friend in eight grade who introduced me to the concept of Wicca. From there I started doing magic out of curiosity and then later realized that I have a natural talent for it. Sadly, it is one of my only skills and I am not very good at modern life in general. But! That’s how I got here.
  3. Who do you gain the most inspiration from?
    Bran by a long shot. That man can take the most random, throw-away idea and turn it into something epic with a matter of a few minutes, some thought, and a few simple suggestions. He also helps me with plot-holes and is my Muse in general. He was the inspiration for Leon(and was the one who suggested the accident in the middle of Revenant, spoilers), and Legion was his brain child(which troubles me greatly until I consider that I’m the one who wrote him to be so damn creepy). Some of his more important-in-the-long run suggestions have been how the Redgate Chronicles begin, the entire plot of Hyperion, which is still in planning, and helped me come up with Esper Ravenwood’s entire backstory in the space of a single evening wandering around campus till the middle of the night. He’s also basically what would happen if Loki and Lucifer ever decided to have a kid. Wait… *eyes everyone involved dubiously*
  4. If you could be anything in the world, what would it be?
    A man. No seriously. Okay, actual answer, I’m a pretty practical person when it comes to what I could feasibly accomplish(which usually means I underestimate/undervalue myself) so I tend not to think about things like this too often. So, throwing all of my normal logic out the window I’ve always kinda wanted to be Professor McGonagall. If I really think about it, that’s what I want to do with my life. I want to show people, particularly the kids who are like I was, that magic does still exist in the world and that anyone can do it with a little practice and a slightly different way of Seeing. I want to open up Hogwarts or something. If I could go back to college for sorcery and wyrdwork, I totally would.
  5. Your favorite way to relax and unwind?
    Jacksepticeye. Also, long baths. Long, warm, lavender-infused baths. Also the occasional run through of Skyrim because sometimes games are fun, though I don’t really consider myself a gamer(says the guy who’s most watched channels are Jack, Markiplier, and GMM). There are other activities that usually relax me in a hurry but for the sake of avoiding TMI I’m just going to avoid going there.
  6. There’s a bug in your house… Squish it or save it?
    Depends on the bug. If it’s a lady bug chances are I’ll take it outside. If it’s an ant, wasp(which is probably the most terrifying thing to find in your bathroom, let me tell you), or stink-bug I usually squish them. Spiders and moths, I ignore and let go on their merry ways. Also, I live with three cats who like to hunt down and eat annoying flappity things, so, there’s that.
  7. If someone double-dog dared you to do something ridiculous and possibly embarrassing, but not harmful, would you do it?
    Sadly I’m a stubborn and prideful individual, so, no. Unless there was a large sum of money involved or I was in costume. Then I’d consider it.
  8. Your favorite element?
    Earth. I’m an earth person through and through. Though I have an affinity for weather-work because Thor, attract everyone except fellow earth people, and have absolutely zero green thumb. I’m not really a plant-earth person but a rock person. Mineral. Whatever. GROUND STUFF.
  9. Name one place you’ve never been but would love to visit.
    Ever, or just this lifetime? For the first, I’ve never to my knowledge been to Mars, but assuming proper precautions and livable conditions, I’d love to see the sun rise from there. For just this lifetime, I want to go back to Norway at some point and pay respects to…well…myself. Weird prospect, but strangely fitting. In my head anyway. Presumably I left an arm and a shield at the bottom of Hafrsfjord somewhere. There’s something disturbingly heartwarming in the knowledge that there are a couple places I could go and give myself flowers.
  10. What’s your favorite song and why do you love it?
    I have attempted this question like eight different ways but I’m going to settle on the song that’s been on my MP3 player the longest, and it’s because of Val. “The New Beginning” by Lunatic Soul sounds stylistically like that one opening theme for the show Vikings (“If I had a Heart” by Fever Ray), but slightly more relaxed, creepy, and…exotic? IDK it’s got a very specifically eerie-yet-calming sound. Meditative, almost. The lyrics are simple, “I thought you wouldn’t come / but I’ve been waiting for you / in the back of beyond.” Knowing that this was the song Val first used to get my attention and formally introduce himself(before my inner radio got tuned properly) gives that message an entire airport of baggage, especially now that I know his side of the story. It’s the only song by Lunatic Soul I ever listen to, which could also be because I haven’t ever had the desire to hear anything else of theirs. (Guess what I’m doing now? :D)
  11. What’s your ‘guilty pleasure’?
    There may or may not be several short stories that will never be published due to explicit content sitting the annals of my computer. Also, RWBY.

And now I have a dilemma because Loki’s Little Hippie Witch and I pretty much know the same people, and she’s already nominated any/everyone I could think of. So I’m not going to nominate anyone because… well, I just don’t know that many people. If you’re reading this and you want to do it, though, feel free! It’s pretty fun, and it’s always nice to get to know people a little better.

With that said, have a wonderful day!

3 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Aw, stinkbugs are nice. Misunderstood and smelly, but usually quite pleasant. 😄

    Start a Hogwarts! I’d love to! My kid loves crystals and energy work, and she’s pretty darn good at it for a 5 year old. I hope she wants to learn more about what she can do because I get the feeling she’s capable of quite a bit.

    Bran as a Loki/Lucifer kid… Anything is possible! I just had an astral son with Loki, Fen, and Freyr. Stranger things do happen! 😄

    Like

    1. True things! The only thing that throws me off about that idea is that Bran also has BIG antlers for some reason. 😄 Maybe Loki seduced an elk?
      OI. I do suck at teaching though, that’s the only thing. Though, I’m still pretty young so I have time to learn, supposedly. It would definitely be a long-term plan.
      Also how is the little guy? 😀 Is he more than a bean by now or is he being more like a physical human baby?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They brought him by last night. I could only visit for a few minutes before I got a third eye headache, but he’s wittle. The size of a human newborn. He was wrapped in a blanket and I saw a little curl sticking up from his head. 🙂

        Antlers?? Loki, wtf? 😄

        Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts

