Aright, WTF

Hello, my friends!

So, it’s been a strange week. It started off with Frey outright claiming himself as my patron(or, one of them, anyway. More on that later) and telling me all that entails, and then disappearing for a few days. Then an old friend of mine from the other side stopped by for the first time in about three years and finally told me his story, and after that Odin decided it would be a good time to remind me that I still technically had a contract with him from way back when. There’s been a slew of other stuff happening as well, but for the sake of my perceived sanity—or lack thereof—I’m not going to write about them. The weirdshit is getting really weird, and I’m not quite sure if I’m used to it yet. Or, at least, not all at once. And all this crap got dropped on me all at once, so, I want to know what the pardon my french actual fuck is going on that is making All of the Things happen at the same time.

I won’t talk much about my admittedly strange relationship with Frey because of reasons, so we’ll start with my old friend. He appeared to me after watching a show back in about my sophomore year of high school, in which there was a character that very closely resembled him in both appearance(both of them are dragons/dragon-like) and personality(to some extent). Over the years he changed from appearing to me strictly as that character, and now basically appears as he actually looks, at least to me. I’ve been calling him Val, and while that may or may not actually be his real name, he responds to it. He’s been leery of telling me his actual story for years, probably because I didn’t have the background knowledge at the time, but apparently he decided that now would be a good time to tell me. Why? I don’t know. But he apparently fought in the Aesir-Vanir war way back when—even though he looks more like a jotunn to me, he does have pointed ears under all that hair—and got nearly killed when he went up against Odin. Yes, he did. That’s where most of his scars came from. After that whole business he settled back down for a while and mentored me when I was going through my training with the Serpent tribe. After I got switched to Salmon, he got a little, shall we say, irritated, and they switched him to Wolf tribe because of his temper problems. Which, looking back, may explain why he up and disappeared in the middle/end-ish of 2012. For a vanic being, he’s very aggressive and warrior-minded, so I’m not sure if he’s full-on elf, or if he is a bit of a throwback to when the Jotnar and Vanir were the same. He seems old enough for that. I’m not quite sure why/how he’s managed to stay around this long, but, whatever. He’s taken it upon himself to be my mentor again, especially when it comes to matters of shapeshifting and sorcery. Am I a sorcerer? Who the hell knows. Maybe. At the moment, I’m not sure if he’s still living in Vanaheim, or if he moved.

Hi, Val!
Hi, Val!

As for Odin… he actually showed up with both of his eyes intact, which is not something I’ve ever seen before, and looked much younger. Black hair instead of white, although he did have touches of grey around his temples. That was the first time I’ve ever seen a younger version of him, and it was terrifying. The only reason I knew it was him was because of that creepy, intense, slightly bloodthirsty, but also grandfatherly energy he tends to carry around with him. It was even more pronounced than usual. He asked me if I remembered the agreement we’d made back when I was actually living in Norway, and of course I don’t, other than I carry around the title, “Odin’s Wolf,” for whatever reason. I remember that I had a tattoo on my left arm. but don’t remember what it was, since that’s the arm that got cut off when I died way back when. Anyway, Odin… “reminded” me of some things. I’m still not sure what it is he wants me to do exactly, but I know that it’s going to be a very strange winter for me. Someone Upstairs has some plans, and I’m not sure what they are or why they’re in place, but, Odin’s on a warpath, it seems.

9 thoughts on “Aright, WTF

    1. Okay, even my Bran is feeling it, he’s had some REALLY weirdshit happen, and he doesn’t really work with any of the Norse, except Loki. o_O; It’s freaking me out!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Noooo. -gives blanket- Anxiety, leave our Hippie Witch alone! We’ll figure it out. I don’t think it’s anything super terrible, but I do kinda feel like Ned Stark at the moment. Winter is coming.

        Liked by 1 person

Your Thoughts

