A Turn for the Weird

*drags self in*
*props self up on chair*
*tired smile* ‘Sup?

Hello, friends, it’s been a weird month. Or two. I believe the last you heard from me – unless you follow my dream log blog – I was freaking out about a barn owl sometime in late April. Since then, things have taken a turn for the bizarre, and I’ve been sitting here for the past two weeks or so – maybe not that long, but it feels like it – trying to figure out how and what to tell you. May was certainly an adventure worthy of a novella.

Good news, first off, Winterdream is finally written, and is currently sitting in the annals of my computer waiting for my brain to melt sufficiently so that I can go back and edit it. I plan to do some of that this Sunday, since I have a little time off from The Day Job. It came out much better than I expected it to, if my first read-through was any indication, though it definitely needs polishing. I do consider it my best book so far, though, by a long shot.

Other than my shoulders being sore as a soggy seabird, there’s not really any bad news, so, here’s the weird. I’m going to have to ask you to suspend the skepticism here, because it’s been really spooky.

After the incident with the owl – which I’ve only seen once since, though I’m getting owl imagery appearing absolutely everywhere – I’ve had some shtuff happen. Most of it was Odin leading me around and into situations that were, for lack of better words, both enlightening and terrifying. I’ve gone berserk(don’t worry, nobody got hurt), bawled my eyes out, had strange dreams about hiking through Midgard with Loki that ended up having bearing on waking life, had one-too-many instances of near-perfectly timed lightning strikes in accordance with movement(correlation may not equal causation but I swear if I didn’t know any better I managed to split the sky in half with my hammer), and have basically been ganged up on by Loki, Odin and Frey, for reasons currently unknown to me.

I’ve been reality-checking myself for the entire month of May, and I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not actually crazy. Or if I am, it’s not much more than an average level of crazy for someone who is, say, an artist who has muses. Now, I’m coming at all of this weirdness – and wyrdness sometimes – from a devoutly spiritual, borderline religious perspective, and I accept that the gods have decided to be my guides for a while, and that such an idea sounds perfectly insane. I’m not sure what for, or why, or for how long, but overall they are actually helping. I haven’t had a migraine in weeks, which is not something I can often say. The “advice” they’ve given me – and by that I mean their little nudges have sent me to places I learn something from, usually websites – has actually helped my overall health level, both physically and emotionally. Aside from the occasional bout of overwhelming exhaustion, usually caused by me not heeding the warnings, I feel better than I have in years. So if I am crazy, the crazy is helping.

So, that’s where I’m at. Muddling through a massive lake of spooky-foo without knowing precisely why. But, owls don’t scare me any more, people don’t scare me as much as they used to, and I am once again full of projects, but this time they’re actually getting done! So, yeah. If this post was a little long and a little on the bizarre side, well, that was May for me. 😀 I probably won’t post again until Winterdream is closer to being finished, so, until then, have a good one!

– EJ, the Hermit[?]

Your Thoughts

