30 Day Tarot Challenge: Day 15

Halfway there! I’m currently on a mission to complete Calamity’s 30-Day Tarot Challenge. Can’t stop now, the horizon is ahead!

Day 15 – How much emphasis do you put on the textbook meanings for cards, and how much stress do you place on the “feeling” you get from cards through their artwork/symbolism, etc. Do you do both, or one or the other?

Normally, I get a feeling about what the card means in a reading as soon as I flip it over, and usually that feeling is right on the money. When I’m reading for other people, that’s also usually the first thing I say, before I pull out the book and look it up, if I need to. With myself, I end up second-guessing my own feelings and end up looking in the book to verify or disprove them, which usually ends up with me being right about 75% of the time, and completely misreading the rest. With my old deck I used to rely almost completely on the book definitions, since it was a pretty literal deck, but with Shadowscapes I find myself getting lost in the artwork and finding the meaning through putting myself into the picture. Works a lot better, for me anyway. I do that with runes, too, when they send me images and I find myself lost in the meaning. The Five of Pentacles in the Shadowscapes deck is prone to doing that, and I end up with a deep sense of both despair and hope whenever I get lost in it. Was the weirdest feeling in the world the first time it happened, and I’ve never been able to go by just the book since.

With that, I will bid you adieu. May your feelings always point in the right direction. 🙂 See you tomorrow!
-Ej the Hermit of Feels

2 thoughts on “30 Day Tarot Challenge: Day 15

Your Thoughts

