30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 5

Here we go again! I’m currently on a mission to complete Calamity’s 30-Day Tarot Challenge. It’s been fun so far!

Day 5 – When and where did you give your first reading?

It took me a while to remember this one, because I thought it was later than it actually was. The first reading I ever gave was to one of my best friends growing up, at a sleepover “party” thing, and I don’t remember when, just that it happened. I don’t really remember much about which cards were involved or what the outcome was, but I suspect that long-term the reading was horribly inaccurate. However, I do remember that I only used the major arcana, because I didn’t have enough patience or attention span to learn the minor arcana. Which was probably part of the problem. I was a really lacking-in-focus kid. Also lacking in common sense, but that really only comes with age, so I’ve gathered.

The first accurate reading I ever gave was sometime after junior year of high school started, when a group of friends and I all played dungeons and dragons in a buddy’s basement. Yes, we were those nerds. But I did the reading for, I believe, the host of that little operation, after casually stating one day that I read tarot cards, and after the initial amazed and hopeful reactions calmed down. Since then I’ve been, overall, stunningly accurate with everyone but myself. Proof of that is in this post. Something about having my own eyes in the mess makes for many mistakes.

On that note, I must leave you. May you always make the right mistakes. I will see you tomorrow!
– EJ the Learning Hermit

2 thoughts on “30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 5

  1. I’ve found that while it’s easier reading for others, sometimes it’s unavoidable to do so for yourself. The problems with that is we look at readings for ourselves in a subjective matter. “How does X actually apply when I’m dealing with Y and not Z?” It’s easier to lose the objective focus we have when reading for others, because we don’t want to hear or see things that we don’t agree with or will upset us. That’s why I’m a big advocate of keeping the guidebooks that come with decks. That way, instead of interpreting the meaning like we do for everyone else, we read what the actual card is supposed to mean, and see how THAT applies rather than what we think the card may mean in our own situations. Hope that made sense!

    Like

    1. Made perfect sense. 🙂 I do that too, and I still mess up sometimes. XD Not as often lately, because I’ve gotten into the practice of being much more honest with myself. I very rarely fudge entire readings, now, usually it’s just one or two cards that end up being wrong.

      Like

Your Thoughts

