30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 4

I’m doing it! I’m doing the thing! I’m currently on a mission to complete Calamity’s 30-Day Tarot Challenge. And now I’m on day 4!

Day 4 – How long have you been reading the Tarot?

I’ve been misreading the Tarot for much longer than I’ve been reading it. I got my first reading from my mother when I was a little tiny Hermit of around 9 or 10-ish. The only card I actually remember from that reading was the Heirophant, and since then I have met several such people in my life, including the one I wrote three books about. Shortly after said reading I started doing little readings for myself in secret – because I thought mum wouldn’t approve or some such – but my interest died down toward the middle-end of middle school. No surprise there. A lot of my innate talents and skills were about –this- close to being systematically squished out of my system by the System. Thank goodness for small rebellions. After I got the Tarot of the Elves, though, and started showing it off at school, I regained my interest.

It wasn’t really until senior year of high school that I really got into the deep mystical bits of Tarot, and really started to understand what it was that the practice consists of. Which means that while I’ve been steeping in the cards for a while, now, I’ve only been seriously reading them for 2.5 – 3 years. I’ve still got a lot to learn, and every time I think I know a card, something happens and knocks the floor out from under me, but at least I’ve got a basic understanding and some talent for reading at this point. I hope there will be many more years of this, as well! 😀

And with that, I must part ways once again. May you never be squished out of your passions, and I will see you tomorrow!
– EJ the Hermit’s Apprentice

Your Thoughts

