30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 2

For those who are just joining us, hi! I’m doing a thing! I’m currently on a mission to complete Calamity’s 30-Day Tarot Challenge. So, let’s go, Day 2!

Day 2 – What was your first deck and why/how did you get it?

The first deck that I used was actually my mother’s Ukiyoe Tarot deck. I used that for a few years, in secret, before I got my own, first first deck, Tarot of the Elves. I’ve had it since I was 13 or 14, and I got it from one of the last bookstores where I live. I was so sad to see it go, but there’s a Barnes and Noble about half an hour down the road by car, so I’m golden. Anyway, that deck got me through all or most of high school, and I just retired it last month. And by retired I mean I cleansed it and it now lives with my wee sister. It seems like I’ve had it for a really long time and then I remember that it’s only been five or six years. Yay, progress!

As for why  I got it, I think the best answer is that I looked at the art on the cover of the box and thought it was pretty.  Which worked, at the time. Later on I discovered that I do carry with me a lot of more “earthy” vibes, which I guess the elves resonated with? I don’t know. It was also out of a desire to have my own and not have to use my mom’s anymore. Utilitarian, I guess.

With that, I bid you adieu. May all your vibes be what you want them to be! I’ll see you tomorrow.
-EJ the Useful Hermit

2 thoughts on “30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 2

  1. I nearly purchased the Ukiyoe deck myself. I was going through a “everything Japanese” phase in my life. The only reason I didn’t get it was because I fell a few dollars short! Good thing, too, since by the time I made it back to the store it was gone, and the Manga Tarot was in it’s place on the shelf.

    Like

Your Thoughts

