30-Day Tarot Challenge – Day 1

I got a comment on my last post from a certain raving madman called, kamikazezealot, who is in the midst of doing a 30-day Tarot challenge by Calamity. I was, as I always am, eager to join in the fun. Especially since I’ve never completed a 30-day challenge of anything in my life. If you want to have all of the fun as well, the original questions can be found right here. With that, let’s be on with it!

Day 1 – What introduced you/got you involved in Tarot?

Let me tell you a story. When I was just a wee hermit of about 10 or 12-ish, I was looking through one of the many bookshelves in the house – because I was bored, as I usually was – and stumbled across a big orange book with the word “Tarot” on the spine. I asked my mom what it was about and she gave me a brief introduction to the practice of reading cards to tell the future. It was a mystical, fantastic, and wondrous thing to me at the time, and I was completely in awe of the idea that these cards, in the hands of my mother, were reading out events that I couldn’t possibly fathom. Of course, my mom is also a staunch skeptic, and gave me an addendum to the lesson that consisted of why these things always work and vague language, yadda yadda.

Fast forward a few years later, to a still-tiny hermit walking around Borders – which I am still grieving the loss of. I don’t remember when, exactly, this was, or what the circumstance was, all I remember was that we – my mom, sister, and I – turned a corner and my eyes caught on the cover of “Tarot of the Elves.” I actually stopped walking and stared at it for a solid five minutes, not really wanting to bother my mom by asking for it, but when she came back around the corner and saw me staring, she kinda knew it was going to come home with me. And it did! And that deck served me well all through high school, and my year and a half of college.

Basically my involvement in Tarot began as a mix of curiosity, serendipity, and motherly randomness.

May serendipity be awesome to you! I’ll see you tomorrow.
-EJ the Ponderous Hermit

2 thoughts on “30-Day Tarot Challenge – Day 1

  1. Firstly, thanks for the mention. In just the last few minutes my stats have blown up! Really gives me a sense that I’m totally doing the right thing with my blog. So thank you!
    The challenge is really fun, and I’m glad you’re taking part in it.
    Which Tarot of the Elves deck was it? I’ve seen a few different ones around. I found one about 6 years ago that looked like it could have been concept artwork for the Lord of the Rings films. It got lost during a move though, and I haven’t been able to find another copy (at a good price) since.
    I remember Borders. Heck, I remember when Borders bought out my favorite book chain, Walden Books. It was the only store in the mall that sold manga AND good science fiction books. When ours was bought out, and then the Borders that it became closed down, I cried. A lot. Mainly because I had just gotten my Borders card and was looking forward to getting 10% off all of my Doctor Who books.
    I look forward to your other challenge answers during the next 29 days! I’m sure you’ve got quite a few stories to tell.

    Like

Your Thoughts

