Questing Path Spread – Tarot Reading

Having come to the end of one leg of a project – the first five cards in the Revenant Deck drawn, painted, and analyzed – I wanted to do something that I spotted a few days ago: the Questing Path Spread by Rustus. I’m taking a break from making cards for a few days to catch up on writing, but when I get back, I wanted to know what I’d be up against. I see every project as a journey, so, it only made sense for this experiment.

So, here was my question for the cards: how will this next set of five cards go? Or how will the rest of them go, in general? I’m using my Tarot of the Elves deck, which is the only deck I actually own. They seem to like me well enough, thankfully.

They gave me this (and two jumpers, which I read at the end):

TarotSpread

That’s a lot of red. This journey will be one of willpower, I can tell that even without looking at what the actual cards are. Even the Disc card has red as its predominant color in the actual picture. The other color I see a lot of  is blue, meaning that my emotions will have a go in this quest as well. How do I know? Red is what this deck has as representing Wands, the suit of intention and ambition, blue is representing Cups, the suit of emotion and spirituality.

Now, on to the actual reading. For those who haven’t seen the post that originated this spread, here’s what each of the positions mean, from Rustus’s post:

1. The Path – This is a descriptor card and you should look at the overall image of the card to help describe your path.  You can also find a keyword for the card and use it to fill in the blank on the phrase “The Path of _____ .” (See below for an example of this.)

2. Mid-Point Navigation – This card points to a midway marker or event between the beginning of the path and the destination. This is not a descriptor card.  This could be a direct challenge or it could be an experience I was to look for along the way.

3. The Destination – Again, another descriptor card.  Look at the image on the card and where the scene is that is taking place.  Given that this spread is for Lammas, I’m looking for not only the feel of the card but a location where I might want to acknowledge Lammas when it arrives.

4 and 5.  Allies Along the Way – This card would point to energies and entities along the way that I could call on for clarity, support and assistance.  They would remind me of my strengths and my experience and might also be individuals, physical or non-physical, that I might encounter.

6 and 7. Challenges – These two cards would show me not only where the sticky points were going to be but also how to identify my greatest teachers on the path from here to there.

They go from 1-3 across the middle, 4 and 5 are the two at the top, 6 and 7 are at the bottom. Got it? Good.

1-The Path: Four of Wands
Like I said before, this leg of the journey will be primarily dictated by my own, admittedly lacking, willpower. By looking at the faces of each individual, I can tell that some days will be good, some will be frustrating, and some days I’ll wake  up and not want to do anything at all. This card usually indicates early success in ambitions, which I’ve had so far. A great deal of it, by my standards. I suspect this is the beginning of a downhill hike, though, unless I can figure out how to share my victory with others. I’d like to think I’m doing that by sharing my progress, and learnings, with you all, but I may be wrong, and should look to physical life for that. Another place this card comes up a lot for me is as a reminder that I tend to forget about my own health and well-being when I get absorbed into creative outlets. It’s essentially a reminder that even DaVinci needed a lunch break on occasion, something I’d do well to remember.

2-Mid-Point Navigation: Four of Cups
Too many fours on the dance floor! This is the card that is my curse. It tells me that, as usual, I will get to a point in this project where I’ll lose interest, or something will frustrate me, and I’ll end up giving up for a little while. In some ventures, this stage has led me to quit what I’m doing entirely and never go back to it. Never a good sign. This card tells me that the entire rest of my project hinges on my having the willpower to get over my lack of emotion and just do it already.

3-The Destination: Judgement
Oh boy. I get a weird feeling whenever this card comes up. Something about the dark lighting and the accusatory nature never lends itself to feeling good about it. Specifically when it’s directed at me. It took me a long time to finally figure out what this card meant. I actually had to leave, grab a sandwich, and while I was making it, the meaning finally occurred to me. This card, Judgement, is the card that I’ll get utterly stuck on when it comes time to make it. I’ve already been battling with ideas, juggling which character(s) should be on the card, how I want it to look, etc, and I still haven’t come up with anything I like. The completion of this card will mark the completion of this leg of the journey. The reason this occurred to me, by the way, is because I’ve already decided on the next five cards I want to draw. Judgement was the last one. Good to know my current set is paying attention.

4 and 5 – Allies: The Hermit and the Two of Wands
Just in case any of you had any doubt as to whether what I said in this post was true, here’s my namesake making his grand appearance. Now, normally when I get the Hermit in a reading, it’s a jumper, and an indicator of myself, but in this case it’s in the actual spread, as an ally. It could still be referring to me, meaning that I can trust and rely on myself to pull through the sludge of the, “now what do I do?” stage, but it could also be talking about my father, or my sister. I ended up not taking that notion as seriously, though, because my dad generally comes up as the Emperor, and my sister is usually the High Priestess. As for the Two of Wands, I was stuck for a while. It’s a bit of a violent card, and when I looked at it I had to cringe and ask myself who could possibly help in this project with that kind of attitude? Then I realized that it was probably referring to my best friend and creative-idea-bouncer, Wolfie. We’ve had a lot of fights in the past, and some of our differences tend to make us argue and hiss at each othe,r, but I know he’s good for coming up with weird plans and things that tend to work. He’s a guy who sticks to his guns even if the devil himself opposes him, which is the vibe I get from this card after I get past the initial, “what the heck are you doing here?”

6 and 7 – Challenges: Seven of Wands and Six of Discs
Ah, the restless card. The card that means my inability to think in a straight line is showing, and that I’ll find something else that I will want to do right now instead of finishing this project. It happens to me almost as often as just losing the desire to work on something, and often ends me up with a feeling of guilt and a resolution to get my act together or else. I’ve never quite figured out the “or else” bit, though, otherwise it probably would have worked by now. This card is a warning that when I get bored, I should take a step back, examine my long-term goals, and figure out the most productive way to spend my time. The Six of Discs is labeled in the accompanying book to this deck as “Charity,” something that I’ve always had a hard time accepting. I’m one of those people who refuses to ask for help until I’m bleeding out from having my arm cut off, metaphorically speaking. Subconsciously, I guess, I see it as a weakness to have to rely on someone else to get through a problem, even though it might be helpful. This card is here as a reminder that asking for help is okay, and that I probably should in this case, right after I figure out what I’m supposed to be doing, again. Otherwise I’ll end up like the surly guy standing next to the tree in that picture. He’s not a pleasant one to be around at all.

After all that, I finally looked at my two jumpers:

TarotSpreadJumpers

That would be the Hierophant and the Queen of Discs, two cards that have been coming up a lot recently. I knew that the Queen of Discs is a card of abundance, and that she was here to tell me that having an abundance mentality would get me through a lot of this journey relatively unscathed. It’s also something that I need to work on, seeing my problem about not asking for help, like a moron. That was the obvious card, though, and I had no idea why the Hierophant decided to leap out of the deck at me. At first I thought it might be echoing the Hierophant in the Revenant cards, which has Esper as the main figure. He has become my muse, after all, and maybe this was a way of reminding me that there is a reason that I’m working on this deck. However, while I was staring at this card, trying to figure it out, my boyfriend called me. Synchronicity everywhere. He’s my other creative-bouncer, and someone who is there for me when everyone else fails. He’s also a bit of a Hierophant in his own right, as someone who carries a lot of wisdom regarding spiritual and psychic matters. I came to the conclusion, eventually, that he would be the third Ally, if there were room in the spread, and that the Queen of Discs would be the third challenge.

Conclusion: This should be an interesting ride. And if I don’t post anything for a week, come after me.

*** *** ***

So, Rustus is an amazing person for coming up with this spread, and I suspect I’ll use it again in the future! I think it might need one more space each for allies and challenges, given that all things tend to come in threes, but other than that I see no problems with it. Thank you again for sharing, and encouraging the people who read the article to participate! 🙂

Have a wonderful day, everyone!
– The Excited Hermit (Ej Lowell)

4 thoughts on “Questing Path Spread – Tarot Reading

  1. So happy you enjoyed the spread and I hope it gave you insight and assistance as you moved forward! I’m sorry I didn’t post months ago. One of my new year resolutions is to be MUCH better with my internet communication! Thanks for crediting me on the spread and Blessings!

    Like

Your Thoughts

