Why “Hermit?”

Why am I the Hermit, and not, say, the Hierophant? Or the High Priestess? It’s a funny story, actually.

I once had a set of Tarot Cards in which the Hermit somehow got slightly warped, so it would always stick out of the deck, or slip out, be a jumper, or be where I ended up cutting the deck. The Hermit popped up in every reading, whether it wanted to be there or not. So, eventually, I said, “Okay, cards, I get the message,” and decided I wanted to make a blog about, well, being a hermit! At first I actually wanted this place to be called, “The Lazy Hermit” but decided against it. Now, that by itself isn’t that bizarre. What was weird was when every other reading I got from other people’s decks had the Hermit pop up in the reading, or actually jump out of the deck. So I ended up deciding, nope! To heck with people, I’m going to focus on living my own life, regardless of what other people think of me. Frankly, I’ve never been happier.

I’m still using that deck, by the way, the one with the bent card, which is why I’ve been diligently working on the Revenant Tarot deck. I made a set of Runes, once, and discovered that the easiest way to learn about something is to do it. I don’t know 90% of the cards well enough to read them without a book, so, learning time! Hooray!

Yup, just a quick post on why I am the Hermit. Have a good one!

-The Lazy Hermit (Ej Lowell)

One thought on “Why “Hermit?”

Your Thoughts

